What’s for dinner?

The age old question that haunts mothers everywhere:  “What’s for dinner?”  In my house, it’s nearly always met with a sense of dread.  What can I make that will appease everyone’s palates??  I have a VERY picky DD, 2 other children that are somewhat easy to please and a husband that is easy to please as long as I don’t do soup or a vegetarian meal.  Since I don’t want to make 3 different meals, dinners have been a bit boring around here lately…

  • pasta with red sauce or garlic & oil, with garlic bread and veggies on the side
  • Mac n Cheese (sometimes with chicken cutlets) and applesauce
  • Pizza
  • Tacos and salad
  • Fast food
  • Pizza
  • pasta and sausage or meatballs

You get the idea…I have decided it’s time to change things up.  I won’t eliminate the tried

and true favorites but will add in some new meals so we don’t end up bored.  So tonight, I will be making a meal from when I was a kid: sliced hot dogs with onions sauteed in tomato paste-based sauce, rice, beans and corn.  It may not be gourmet but it is simple, filling and easy on the wallet.

Recipe

  • 1 pack of hot dogs, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • enough water to loosen up the sauce (I use about 3/4c.)
  • sliced onion (the amount depends on your family’s preferences)
  • Sazon packet..with culantro and achiote

In a medium skillet, combine tomato paste and water and stir until the tomato paste has dissolved into the water. Bring this mixture just to a boil and then lower the heat to simmer.  Add the hot dogs and let them simmer.  While this is going on, saute your onions until they are translucent. Add them to the pan of hot dogs and sauce.  Let them sit at a low simmer for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and serve with rice, beans and a nice salad.

This is just a starting point.  Add in, take out, make it your own.  I used black beans since I realized I was out of red kidney beans at the last minute.  The rice was seasoned with just salt, pepper and cilantro.  This is how tonight’s version turned out.

Image

What’s for dinner?

What do you think?  Is this a meal your family might enjoy? I’d love to hear from you.  Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

